Why is the humerus called the funny bone?

It is sometimes popularly referred to as 'the funny bone', possibly due to the sensation (a "funny" feeling) resulting when you bump your elbow. Also the fact that the bone's name sounds like the word 'humorous' which means funny contributes to the name "funny bone".