Why is it called piggy back?

The term “Piggyback” originated in the sixteenth century as “Pick-a-back.” “Pick derived from “pitch,” as in “pitch a tent,” or throw, as with a pitch fork so pick-a-back meant throw onto your back. In time the term “pitch” fell out of use and, by the 20th Century, morphed into piggy.