Why did the french attack mexico in eighteen sixty two?

France used a pretext of unpaid debts to justify the war with Mexico which lasted from 1861 to 1867. In reality, Napoleon III hoped to replace the Mexican republic with a monarchy loyal to France as part of the Second French Empire.