What do you do if you step on a rusty nail?

Prompt treatment after a nail puncture can speed the healing process and prevent an infection: Wash your hands. Wash your hands before caring for any type of wound. Stop the bleeding. Some nail punctures bleed, some don't. Clean your wound. Apply antibiotic cream. Cover your wound.