What's a direct object?

Direct object, is a word or phrase that receives the action of the verb. The kids drink juice. Direct object is juice; drink is the verb, juice is what they're drinking. Answers the question What. An indirect object answers, to, or for whom. Give the ball to Mom. Give what? Ball. Give to whom? Mom.