How did german celebrate christmas?

Like we do, there traditions involve a Christmas wreaths, Black Forest Christmas cakes, the advent calender. They really don't put up a tree till Christmas eve though. They decorate the tree like we do, gingerbread people are popular with a gingerbread house.