What is pinot noir wine?

Pinot noir is a red wine grape variety of the species Vitis vinifera. The name may also refer to wines created from Pinot noir grapes. The name is derived from the French words for pine & black. The word pine alludes to the grape variety having tightly clustered, pine cone-shaped bunches of fruit.