Who wrote the original nutcracker?

The original nutcracker was choreographed by Marius Petipa and Lev Ivanov with a score by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky. It was adapted from E. T. A. Hoffmann's 1816 short story "The Nutcracker and the Mouse King."