Why is new orleans known as the big easy?

In the 1960s, New Orleans gossip columnist Betty Guillaud allegedly coined the moniker while comparing 'the Big Easy' to 'the Big Apple,'" While New Yorkers were perpetually running around, laid-back life in New Orleans reigned, hence, The Big Easy.