When was the first cheese burger made?

3 states claim the birthplace of the cheeseburger. California says Lionel Sternberger experimented dropping a slice of cheese on a beef patty in 1928. Kentucky claims Louisville restaurant Kaelin's invented it in 1934. And Colorado says that the Humpty Dumpty Drive-In in Denver invented it in 1935