What year was ginger ale invented?

The sparkling, spicy refreshment known as ginger ale began with ginger beer, an alcoholic Victorian-era beverage invented in England. Around 1851, the first ginger ales were created in Ireland. This ginger ale was a soft drink with no alcohol. The carbonation was achieved by adding carbon dioxide.

---

Introduced in 1851