What is the simple subject?

The simple subject tells who or what is doing something. It is just the subject noun or pronoun without any other words that describe or modify it. For example, Thomas Edison invented the light bulb. In this sentence, “Thomas Edison” is “doing” the verb, “invented.”

---

A simple subject is a subject that has just one noun or pronoun as the focus of the sentence.