What happened to sharkboy and lavagirl?

While Taylor Dooley will be back as Lavagirl, Sharkboy has been recast, and not because Taylor Lautner wasn't open to returning. ... Just three years after playing Sharkboy, Lautner played werewolf Jacob Black in Twilight, reprising his role in the rest of the saga.