Did texas used to be it's own country?

Formerly part of Mexico, Texas was an independent country from 1836 to 1845. Since its independence, Texas had sought annexation by the U.S. However, the process took nearly 10 years due to political divisions over slavery. On December 29, 1845, Texas became the 28th state in the United States.