When was pluto not a planet?

Pluto is no longer a planet. The 2006 definition of planet defined Pluto not as planet, but as dwarf planet, because it have not cleared its neighbourhood. Pluto (unlike all other planets in our Solar system) does not orbit the Sun alone, but as part of a population of similarly sized objects.

---

Pluto was discovered by Clyde Tombaugh in 1930 and was originally considered as the ninth planet from the Sun. After 1992, its status as a planet was questioned after the discovery of several objects similar in size in the Kuiper belt. In August 2006 it was downgraded to the status of dwarf planet.