What is film noie?

Film Noir, is the technique of filmmaking illustrated by such characteristics as stark lighting effects, frequent use of flashbacks, complicated scenarios, and an underlying existentialist philosophy. The genre was overall mainly in American crime dramas of the post-World War II era