How was mother's day founded?

Mother's Day was founded on May 12, 1907 in Grafton, West Virginia, USA, by Anna Jarvis. She held a memorial service at her late mother's church. Within a few years, most states were observing the day and in 1914, US president Woodrow Wilson made it a national holiday.