How long has cryptocurrency been around?

The first cryptocurrency, ecash, was conceived by David Chaum in 1983. In 1995, he implemented ecash through Digicash. This was an early form of cryptographic electronic payments that could not be traced by the issuing bank, government, or any other third party.