What's an induction cooktop?

It is a cooktop, or sometimes called a stovetop, that does not provide heat. It generates a strong alternating magnetic field such that when a metal pan is put on it, the fields generate heat and the pan becomes hot, leaving the cooktop cool. This method of transmitting energy is called induction.