What is the saint syrian?

Ephrem the Syrian, also known as Saint Ephrem or Ephraim, of Edessa or Aprem of Nisibis, was a prominent Christian theologian and writer, who is revered as one of the most notable hymnographers of Eastern Christianity. He was born in Nisibis, served as a deacon and later lived in Edessa.