Who is sammy jankis?

Sammy Jankis is the fictional character portrayed by Stephen Tobolowsky in Christopher Nolan's 2000 film "Memento". In it, Sammy suffers short-term memory loss from a car accident about which Guy Pearce's Leonard was appointed to investigate the legitimacy of for a medical insurance company.