What does the white stripes on the american flag mean?

The flag of the United States of America has seven red stripes and six white stripes. Officially the red stripes signify valor and bravery, while the white stripes symbolize purity and innocence. There are 13 stripes to represent the original 13 American colonies that rebelled against Great Britain.