What does rain on your wedding day mean?

The notion that rain on a wedding day is a symbol of fertility is related to the fact that rain waters the ground, allowing plants to grow. The idea that rain signifies renewal relates to the rain washing away all the sorrow and struggle in one's life and providing the ability to start fresh;