What animal does james potter turn into?

James Potter's Animagus form was a large stag.

---

James Potter was an animgus along with his friend Sirius Black & Peter Petigrew. James could transform into a Stag, Sirius into a large black dog, and Peter into a rat. They learned to do so to give some sympathy to their friend Remus Lupin who was a werewolf.