How many prisoners have escaped from alcatraz?

Over the 29 years that Alcatraz operated from 1934-1963, 36 men were involved in 14 separate escape attempts. 23 were caught, 6 were shot and killed during the escape, and 2 drowned. To this day, the remaining 5 people are listed as missing and presumed drowned.