Who is the great white hope?

The expression "Great White Hope" dates from the early 1900s, when heavyweight boxing champion Jack Johnson, who was black, seemed invincible and the term was used for any white opponent who might defeat him. In this context, boxer James Jeffries,was nicknamed “the Great White Hope.”