What is a toki?

A symbol of courage and strength in times of adversity, toki were worn by Māori elders as a symbol of power, wisdom and authority. The toki (adze) was a chisel tool used by the Māori people of Aotearoa (New Zealand) to carve their great canoes and carved detailing on their meeting houses.