Why don't americans eat horse meat?

Horse meat was banned in the United States in 2007, when Congress stripped financing for federal inspections of horse slaughter, but this was reversed by Congress under Obama in 2011. Though many states continue to have their own specific laws regarding horse slaughter and the sale of horse meat.