Are green onions also called chives?

No. Chives are a member of the onion family, but they do not form bulbs below the soil's surface. They grow long, green leaves only, and bloom with round, purplish-pink ball-shaped flowers. You use the leaves as flavorings, by cutting them and chopping into your dishes.