Why are they called the rat pack?

The name "The Rat Pack" was first used to refer to a group of friends in New York. The group's original "Den Mother", Lauren Bacall, after seeing her husband, Humphrey Bogart, and his friends return from a night in Las Vegas, said words to the effect of "You look like a gosh darn rat pack."