Where do cicadas come from?

Cicadas are animals, so they come from other animals. The mother cicada lays eggs that hatch out into larvae. These feed on tree sap until mature, when they burrow underground and eat tree roots. Every 2 to 17 years, they come to the surface to begin the cycle all over again.