What is sleep meditation?

Sleep meditation is a state between being awake and sleeping, where you put yourself in a state in which the body is completely relaxed but mentally aware. Known as Yoga Nidra (meaning sleep in Sanskrit), it is used as a relaxation method (or meditation) for the mind, body and soul.