What are igneous rocks made out of?

Igneous rocks come from melted rock material, or magma, that lies beneath Earth's surface. Igneous rocks form when magma from inside the Earth moves toward the surface, or is forced above the Earth's surface as lava and ash by a volcano. Here it cools and crystallizes into rock.