What is the moe's scale?

The Mohs' hardness scale was developed in 1822 by Frederich Mohs. The Mohs scale of mineral hardness is a qualitative ordinal scale, from 1 to 10 (10 being the hardest), characterizing scratch resistance of minerals through the ability of harder material to scratch softer material.