How long does it take for tea to grow?

Tea plants may take up to three years to mature and produce a harvest, but you can grow and care for a tea plant in your own home garden. Since they are native to mostly tropical regions of the world, tea plants flourish in warm temperatures and grow year-round when in a warm climate.