What was the united states of america called before?

On September 9, 1776, the Second Continental Congress adopted a new name for what had been called the "United Colonies.” The moniker United States of America has remained since then as a symbol of freedom and independence.

---

Prior to being called United Colonies the indigenous peoples of Canada and the United States called it Turtle Island which is a name for North America. On September 9, 1776, the Second Continental Congress adopted a new name for what had been called the "United Colonies.”