What is a royal poodle?

A royal poodle is not a separate poodle breed. The American Kennel Club defines the standard poodle as being 15 inches or greater at the highest point of the shoulders. Breeders define royal-sized poodles as standing 25 inches or more at the shoulder and weighing more than 60 pounds when grown.