How is the liberty bell broken?

The Liberty Bell arrived in Philadelphia in 1752 and cracked on it's first test strike. A new bell was twice cast from the cracked bell. There are several legends how the new bell cracked including during funeral of Chief Justice Marshall in 1835 and in 1846 when rung for Washington's birthday.