What is zero rated?

ZERO RATING. Almost all countries apply preferential rates to some goods and services, making them either “zero rated” or “exempt.” For a “zero-rated good,” the government doesn't tax its retail sale but allows credits for the value-added tax (VAT) paid on inputs. This reduces the price of a good.