What does it mean beyond the pale?

The expression 'beyond the pale' refers to a historical part of Ireland. This area was under the control of England, and areas 'beyond the pale' were implied to be uncivilized. Today it refers to something not following expectations, standards, or norms, or otherwise being unacceptable.