Is netherite stronger than diamonds?

At the moment, vanilla Minecraft's strongest armor set is full Netherite armor. Formed by upgrading diamond armor with Netherite ingots in Minecraft, Netherite armor is incredibly powerful and durable in the face of oncoming damage.