What happened at tiananmen square in nineteen eighty nine?

The Tiananmen Square massacre; hundreds of troops with assault rifles and tanks fired at protesters and ones who tried to cease the entrance into Tiananmen Square. Several protests have occurred in 1919 and 1976.