What is a punter?

If we are talking about football it is the selected player that kicks the ball to make a field goal … this player is also specially trained

---

A punter is a football player that kicks the ball, typically on 4th down, when the offence is too far for a field goal attempt and does not think they can get a 1st down on the next play. This turns the ball over to the other team further down field.