Who are the first people on this planet?

Who the first people on the planet are depends largely on how you define people. The earliest fossils of hominins, members of the human lineage, date to about 4 million years ago in Africa. The most recent human species, Homo sapiens, emerged from Africa roughly 300,000 years ago.