How do you grow turmeric?

Break a large rhizome into small pieces. Each one should have at least two or three buds. Fill a pot with rich organic soil that is moist and well-drained. Place it about 2 inches (5 cm) below the soil surface, with the buds facing up. Water the pot thoroughly.