What's the difference between gold and fool's gold?

Fools gold is a mineral called "iron pyrite" or just plain "pyrite". Chemically it's called "iron sulfide", so it's a compound composed entirely of the elements iron and sulfur. There is no gold in it at all, but has a superficial resemblance due to its metallic luster and pale brass-yellow hue.