Who are the bad guys in sonic two?

Robotnik (also known as Eggman) is still the main villain in Sonic the Hedgehog 2, but Sonic seems to easily defeat the encroaching robot hoard. Knuckles seems to be a much bigger threat for the Blue Bur. Game Rant.