Where do watermelons grow?

Watermelons are native to South Africa, and were cultivated 5,000 years ago. It was taken to Egypt, where they improved the plant to be sweeter and juicier. The first American watermelons were grown by slave traders in Florida during the 1500's. They are now grown all over the world.