How do you train a fish?

Some fish like bettas and goldfish are smart enough to be trained to perform tricks. Teaching tricks requires patience and treats. Tricks need to be broken down into small steps and when the fish reliably performs the first step the next step can be added. After a while, the whole trick is learned.