How is carbonated water made?

Today, sparkling water is created when the combination of high gas pressure and low temperature causes carbon to dissolve in water, creating carbonic acid. When the temperature is raised, or the pressure is reduced, carbon dioxide escapes from the water in the form of bubbles.